The Universidade de Vigo (UVIGO) is a young public academic institution officially founded in 1989 that has managed to consolidate itself in time as a reference of modernity and innovation in Galicia. It has three main objectives: to provide higher education services with high quality rates and oriented to promote work placements among its students, giving priority to internationalization; to promote a basic and applied research through competitive research groups at an international level; and to transfer its knowledge and scientific advances to the society in order to foster an intelligent, sustainable and integrating growth of all its surrounding territory.
The UVIGO is organized in three campuses, placed in three different cities: Vigo, Pontevedra and Ourense; all of them in the South of Galicia, Northwest of the Iberian Peninsula. Our institution leads a Campus of International Excellence, awarded by the Spanish Ministry of Education in 2010, a Campus of the Sea that gathers the teaching and researching efforts of seven public universities in Galicia and North of Portugal, as well as those of two national research organisms. In its three campuses at Ourense, Pontevedra and Vigo, our institution offers degree programs in the fields of engineering, science, humanities, technology and legal-social studies. These are distributed among nearly thirty centers where research groups also carry out R&D activities. A network of own research centers completes the research infrastructure map.


IREEDER page on the partner